In 2022 the Adelphi Quartet won 2nd Prize and the Esterházy Foundation Prize at the Wigmore Hall International String Quartet Competition.

Previous awards include 1st Prize in the 2020 Irene Steels-Wilsing Foundation Competition at the Heidelberger Frühling Festival, and 3rd Prize at the 2021 Paolo Borciani Competition in Italy.  

Formed in 2017 the Quartet studied with Rainer Schmidt (Hagen Quartet) at the Mozarteum University in Salzburg and has received invaluable support and guidance from Eberhard Feltz and Valentin Erben.  They were prize-winners at the Young Classical Artists Trust (YCAT) International Auditions in 2021.

Concert highlights include recitals at the Sommerliche Musiktage Hitzacker, Kammermusik Wiesbaden, Musiktage Mondsee (Austria), the International Mozarteum Foundation (Salzburg) and Le Théâtre de Namur (Belgium). In 2021 they recorded live a new Quartet by Bushra El-Turk (Saffron Dusk) at the Bibliotheksaal in Polling (Bavaria) commissioned by the Cosman Keller Art and Music Trust

The Quartet has given performances of Schubert's String Quintet with Valentin Erben (Alban Berg Quartet) at the Villa Musica in Germany and undertaken exchange programmes at McGill University in Montreal, and with the Guildhall School of Music & Drama in London.

This season they make their debut at Wigmore Hall, return to the Heidelberger Fruhling Quartet Festival and give recitals for the Frankfurt Hindemith-Tage series and Festival de Quatuor ‘Voix intimes’ in Tournai (Belgium). During the summer they worked with young composers as part of Jeunesses Musicales Deutschland project.

The individual members have studied with, among others, Igor Ozim, Benjamin Schmid, Rainer Schmidt, Thomas Riebl, Lawrence Power, Heinrich Schiff and Clemens Hagen.

The Adelphi Quartet is the inaugural YCAT Hans Keller Artist.

Download publicity pack


To book the Adelphi Quartet please contact

Sue Hudson – Senior Artist Manager [email protected]

Sean Dunn - Assistant Artist Manager [email protected]

0207 379 8477

Follow the quartet on:





Photos © Kaupo Kikkas